The Eastern New Mexico News - Serving Clovis, Portales and the Surrounding Communities

Aggies erase eight-run deficit to beat Hounds, capture LSC series


CMI staff

LAWTON, Okla. — The Eastern New Mexico University baseball team was cruising toward a victory on Sunday and a split of its four-game Lone Star Conference series with Cameron when the roof suddenly fell in on them.

Leading 11-3, the Greyhounds gave up 16 runs — 12 of them unearned — over the seventh and eighth innings as the Aggies rallied for a 19-11 win.

It was an ugly game, with 11 errors (six on ENMU) and seven hit batsmen (four by Cameron pitchers), while ENMU hurlers combined for 11 walks. The Aggies sent 11 batters to the plate in a six-run seventh and 14 during their 10-run eighth.

The Hounds (15-13, 5-11 LSC), who fell into a virtual tie for the cellar with the Aggies (8-15, 4-10), jumped on top with five runs in the first, highlighted by shortstop Dylan Nault’s two-run single. After Cameron pulled to 6-3 in the fourth, ENMU seemingly broke the game open with a five-run fifth that was helped along by three Aggies errors and also included catcher Chad Highberger’s three-run double.

ENMU freshman right-hander Keigan Basso went only 3 1/3 innings after throwing 86 pitchers. Jackson Gaskins pitched out of a two-on, one-out jam in the fourth and held the fort until the seventh.

Cameron had only four hits in the eighth inning as the Hounds committed three errors.

Cameron outhit ENMU 13-12, with left fielder Jordan Climpson going 4-for-5 and shortstop Kas Sanders, designated hitter Cody Knight and second baseman Kaden Hardzog all driving in three runs.

Brent Hendy (1-1) managed to restore order for the Aggies, working 4 2/3 innings of scoreless relief for the win. Second baseman Brett Ackerman went 4-for-4 for the Hounds, while Highberger also drew a bases-loaded walk to finish with four RBIs.

ENMU returns to action with a four-game LSC series this weekend at Angelo State, beginning with a 5:30 p.m. single game on Friday.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023