Serving Clovis, Portales and the Surrounding Communities

Three Hounds earn All-LSC South in football

RICHARDSON, Texas — Three members of the Eastern New Mexico University football team have earned first-team All-Lone Star Conference South honors in voting done by the division’s seven head coaches.

Eleven members of the Greyhounds were honored overall. The selections were released Wednesday by the conference office.

Representing the Greyhounds on the first team offense was junior wide receiver Derrick Hunter, while defensive honorees were senior linebacker Jeff Howard and junior cornerback Corey White.

Hunter finished the season with 51 catches for 829 yards and eight touchdowns. With 2,104 yards in three seasons, he is within 12 yards of the school’s all-time record for receiving yardage.

He is also 16 catches away from the school’s career mark in that category.

Howard led the Hounds in tackles for the second year in a row with 115, including 67 solos. He had nine tackles for loss, 4 1/2 quarterback sacks and three pass interceptions — two of which he returned for touchdowns.

White had 29 solo tackles and four assists, including three stops for loss and one sack. He led the team with four pass interceptions, returning one 25 yards for a touchdown against Texas A&M-Kingsville.

Seven Hounds were named to the second team, including junior center Devin Pilgrim, junior guard Robert Acuna and senior tackle Daniel Lujan on offense and senior end B.J. Biggar, junior tackle Brandon Wickware, senior free safety Ty Touchstone and senior strong safety Adrian Quigley on defense.

The only honorable mention selection for ENMU was senior quarterback Steven Hinson, who in Saturday’s finale against Western New Mexico became the school’s first 1,000-yard rusher (1,006) since 1995. Hinson, who also passed for more than 1,300 yards this season, finished his career with 2,075 yards rushing and 23 touchdowns.

Division co-champion Texas A&M-Kingsville, one of three LSC teams selected to the NCAA Division playoffs, dominated the South squad with 11 first-team and 21 total selections.

Kingsville, which shared the division title with Midwestern State, won or shared five of the South’s six individual awards, including senior quarterback Daniel Taylor earning Offensive Back of the Year honors despite being chosen to the second team.

West Texas A&M’s Derek Maupin edged Taylor for first-team honors at quarterback after passing for 3,461 yards this season and finishing his career just four yards shy of becoming the LSC’s all-time leader in passing yardage.

Kingsville coach Richard Cundiff was chosen Coach of the Year.

The North Division squad was dominated by co-champion Southeastern Oklahoma with nine first-team picks and four second-team selections. The Savages open the playoffs on Saturday at Kingsville.