The Eastern New Mexico News - Serving Clovis, Portales and the Surrounding Communities

ENMU relay team finishes fifth in nation


May 26, 2019

KINGSVILLE, Texas — Though Friday and Saturday was time for most people to leave work behind, hit the highways and think about having fun, some Eastern New Mexico track athletes were hard at work.

Eastern New Mexico’s 400-meter women’s team was among the contingent representing the Greyhounds at the NCAA Division II Outdoor Track & Field Championships in Kingsville, Texas, Thursday through Saturday. And that team — consisting of Kandice Miles, Maijah Mathis, Danee Bustos and Lateria Slaughter — placed fifth in Saturday’s final, posting a time of 46.68 and earning four points for the Greyhound cause.

Though the 400 relay team gave its own school record a chase, the quartet ultimately fell short of the 45.56 mark.

Lincoln (Mo.) took first in the event, picking up 10 points with its 45.33 time.

Finishing second through fourth, respectively, were San Francisco State (45.59, 8 points), Pittsburg State (45.95, 6 points) and West Texas A&M (45.96, 5 points).

Grand Valley State (46.94, 3 points) and Southern Wesleyan (47.99, 2 points) came in behind Eastern. St. Augustine’s didn’t finish.

Miles and Mathis also competed in women’s sprint events, and Greyhound middle-distance runner Ivar Moinat took part in the men’s 800.

Miles had a good women’s 200-meter prelim run, coming away with ninth place. Ivar Moinat recorded a 12th-place finish in the men’s 800-meter prelims.

Miles just missed making the championship cut, finishing a mere 0.01 seconds back of the eighth-place spot with a time of 24.38.

Mathis also competed in the 200-meter prelim, finishing 21st with a time of 25.16.

In the men’s 800 prelims, Moinat crossed the finish line in 1:54.50 to place in the top 12 for a second straight championship meet after placing seventh in the 800 at this year’s NCAA Division II Indoor National Championships.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019