The Eastern New Mexico News - Serving Clovis, Portales and the Surrounding Communities

Elida dominates all-district


December 19, 2018

Kevin Wilson

Elida's Wesley Poling, shown carrying the ball in the Tigers' 77-47 regular season win over Hondo Valley, was one of the Tigers' 10 first-team selections on the Six-Man District 1 team. He was a first-team linebacker.

Elida’s football season has been over since November 10, but the accolades came rolling in this month.

The Tigers made it all the way to the state 6-Man championship game, where they lost to a tough Animas team. The 6-Man District 1 all-district awards were released last week, with Elida’s state finalist squad earning 14 overall selections — 10 first-team and four second-team.

Floyd earned nine selections — six on the first team and three on the second.

San Jon/Grady’s Chisum Rush was named 6-Man District 1 Player of the Year, the first-team quarterback and a first-team defensive end.

Elida’s prolific offense was well-represented on the first team, as tailback Will Haley, wide receiver Johnny Woodruff and offensive lineman Baylee Oder each made the list.

Defensively, Oder made first team as a safety. Cornerback Graylen East, linebacker Wesley Poling, defensive end Logan Victor and defensive lineman Levi Kline were also first-team picks.

On special teams, Teigan Delk made first team as a placekicker, and Haley was picked as a kick returner.

Teagan Burton was selected as a second-team quarterback, along with Springer/Maxwell’s Jose Urquijo.

Kline was chosen as a second-team fullback, as were San Jon/Grady’s Ethan Short and Springer/Maxwell’s Wesley Jeffers.

Emmit Falcon was picked as a second-team cornerback along with Floyd’s Ricardo Ramirez. And Rylan Creighton was selected as a second-team defensive end, along with Floyd’s Gabriel Love, Springer/Maxwell’s Kolten Riggs and San Jon/Grady’s Chad Becerra.

Floyd’s John McDonald was the first-team fullback, Ibis Melendez the first-team wide receiver and Gabriel Love a first-team offensive lineman.

The three Floyd first-team defenders were linebacker Paco Torres, defensive end Johnathon Wofford and McDonald for defensive line.

Floyd offensive lineman Chance Essary and linebacker teammate John Alvarez were second-teamers along with Ramirez and Love.

Joining Haley as a first-team tailback was Springer Maxwell’s Gabriel Garcia. Springer/Maxwell’s Jake Peek joined Melendez and Woodruff as first-team wide receivers. Springer/Maxwell’s Seth Henriquez rounded out the first-team offensive line, along with Love and Oder.

Springer/Maxwell’s Owen Burton joined East as a first-team corner, while Burton’s teammate Gabriel Garcia filled out the first-team linebacker list along with Torres and Poling. Springer/Maxwell’s Joseph DeHerrera was picked as a first-team defensive end along with Victor, Wofford and Rush.

Springer/Maxwell’s Isaiah Vigil was a first-team defensive lineman, along with Cline and McDonald.. And Vigil’s teammate Jose Urquijo was a first-team kick returner along with Haley.

Rounding out the second team were: wide receivers Owen Burton of Springer/Maxwell and Dustin Bryant of San Jon/Grady; Vigil and San Jon/Grady’s Tanner Phillips at offensive line; Urquijo at safety; Springer/Maxwell’s Jeremiah Apodaca and Short of San Jon/Grady at linebacker; Becerra and Springer/Maxwell’s Kolten Riggs at defensive end; Henriquez, Phillips and San Jon Grady’s Landon Windham at defensive line; and Springer/Maxwell’s Ronnie Gurule at placekicker.

No second-team kick returners were selected.

Elida finished 9-2 overall, 4-0 in district. The Tigers’ only two losses came against Animas — 54-20 in Week 2 at neutral Cloudcroft and 59-21 in the state title game at Animas High School.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018

Rendered 01/20/2019 17:41