The Eastern New Mexico News - Serving Clovis, Portales and the Surrounding Communities

Burns is new judge in Clovis; Sheriff Malin Parker re-elected

Curry commission seat too close to call


June 6, 2018

CLOVIS — Shaun Burns won a tightly contested race for magistrate judge in Division 2 in Clovis, but a Curry County Commission seat remained up for grabs with just four votes separating incumbent Seth Martin from challenger Dillon Lewis on Tuesday.

In Roosevelt County, Malin Parker was re-elected sheriff.

Curry County Clerk Annie Hogland said "a small amount" of votes must still be counted by hand, but that won't happen until Curry County commissioners canvas the election on Friday.

Hogland said the total of uncounted votes numbered less than 10. She also said it wasn't immediately clear if the uncounted votes were in the commissioners' district.

Martin led Lewis, 158-154, following Tuesday's unofficial tally. There were no Democrats in their primary.

In the Division 1 magistrate judge race, Nicole Roybal defeated Terry Martin, 275-171, for the Democrat nomination. She will face Republican Janemarie Vander Dussen in November; Vander Dussen beat Keith Farkas, 300-200.

In the Division 2 race, Burns received 665 votes, followed by Stephen Whittington (622), Donald Sawyer (361) and Sean Martinez (250). There were no Democrats in the primary.

Neither magistrate judge race included the incumbent as both Richard Hollis and Duane Castleberry declined to seek re-election.

In Roosevelt County, Parker defeated Darrell Chenault, 892-737, in the sheriff's race. No Democrats competed in the primary.

Christopher Mitchell won a close race among four magistrate judge candidates. He had 519 votes, to James Southard's 492. Jimmy Parrish received 397 votes and Michelle Bargas had 183. There were no Democrats in the primary.

In the Roosevelt County Commission District 4 race, Tina Dixon defeated incumbent Gene Creighton, 173-116. No Democrats competed in the primary.

Unofficial vote totals were as follows with all precincts reporting:

Curry County

Contested races

Democratic Party

Magistrate Judge, Division 1

• Terry Martin 171

• Nicole Roybal 275

Republican Party

Magistrate Judge, Division 1

• Janemarie A. Vander Dussen 300

• Keith A. Farkas 200

Magistrate Judge, Division 2

• Shaun Burns 665

• Stephen R. Whittington 622

• Sean N. Martinez 250

• Donald T. Sawyer Jr. 361

Commission, District 4

• Dillon R. Lewis 154

• Seth H. Martin 158

Roosevelt County

Republican Party

Magistrate Judge

• James S. Southard, 492

• Christopher D. Mitchell, 519

• Jimmy D. Parrish, 397

• Michelle Bargas, 183

Commission, District 4

• Tina M. Dixon, 173

• Gene Creighton, 116


• Darrell W. Chenault, 737

• Malin K. Parker, 892


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020