The Eastern New Mexico News - Serving Clovis, Portales and the Surrounding Communities

Six to be recognized at CMS hall of honor


April 5, 2018

CLOVIS — Two former state senators, a literary agent and the first woman to serve on the Clovis Municipal Schools Board of Education are among the six honorees at this year’s CMS Foundation and Alumni Hall of Honor, according to CMS Education Foundation Executive Director Jan Cox.

This year’s honorees include Armando Jauregui (CHS class of 1987) in the business/industry category, Joseph Durepos (1974) in the sports/entertainment category and Walter Bradley (1964) and Patrick Lyons (1972) in the government/public service category.

Additionally Esther Smith Van Soelen (1949) and Donna Quinn (1964) will receive the Top Cat award intended “to recognize and honor former faculty members and other individuals whose service to and in support of the Clovis Municipal Schools has been outstanding,” according to a news release from the school.

The recipients will be honored at the 2018 Hall of Honor Banquet at 6 p.m. on May 12 at the Clovis Civic Center, 801 Schepps Blvd. Tickets will be on sale starting April 9 at the CMS administration office, 1009 Main St. Prices are $40 for an individual, $295 for a table of eight and $350 for a table of 10.

Here is biographical information on each recipient, as provided by Cox:

• Armando Jauregui, clinical team manager at Bayer Pharmaceuticals — Headed the research team that set in motion a known “cure” for Hepatitis C, and later helped other pharmaceutical companies understand there was an unmet need for other compounds for patients around the world.

• Joseph Durepos, executive editor for trade book acquisitions at Loyola Press — Published over 300 books, including New York Times best-selling authors.

He has also worked as an independent literary agent, whose titles include “No Greater Love” by Mother Theresa, selling over 500,000 copies worldwide. As both agent and editor, his books have been New York Times bestsellers.

They have also won Publisher’s Weekly Best Books of the Year Awards.

• Patrick Lyons — Worked two years at the Department of Agriculture in Washington, D.C., and then returned to Clovis.

He served as a senator in the New Mexico Legislature for 10 years, he then served two terms as commissioner of public lands, and he has served two terms on the Public Regulation Committee.

• Walter Bradley — Served as the 27th New Mexico lieutenant governor, from 1995 through 2003. He previously served the New Mexico State Senate.

While in the Senate, Bradley was recognized by the New Mexico Association of Commerce and Industry with its highest legislative rating.

• Esther Smith Van Soelen — Became the first female lawyer in Clovis and a well-respected member of the legal community.

She also taught at Clovis Community College for many years.

Smith Van Soelen, who died in 2014 at age 86, was active in her church, where she served at the district and conference levels.

• Donna Quinn — Taught English for years at Yucca Junior High, and then attended Texas Tech University Law School. In 1983, she began practicing law in Clovis.

Smith Van Soelen was one of her mentors. Quinn was the first woman to be elected to serve on the Clovis Municipal School Board.

Her practice has been dedicated to family law.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2018