Serving Clovis, Portales and the Surrounding Communities

Bullriding event coming to Clovis

Courtesy of David Wilkerson Henry Yoder of Garrett, Kan., tries to hold on to the bull during a bullriding competition earlier in the season. Yoder is one of 35 bullriders who will be in town for the Clovis Invitational Bullriding and Barrel Racing today and Saturday.

Freedom New Mexico

Clovis Invitational Bullriding and barrel racing

• When: 7:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday

• Where: Curry County Events Center

• Tickets: $15 at the gate, $10 with military ID. Children 6 and under are free.

Of note: The bullriding event is a National Federation of Professional Bullriders event. The barrel racing is a Cowgirl Rodeo Association event.

Bullrider tidbits:Henry Yoder of Garnett, Kan., is an ex-Amish bullrider who the NFPB championship in 2008. ... L.J. Jenkins, formerly of Texico, won the PBR world finals in 2006. Jenkins now lives on a ranch he owns in Oklahoma. ... Adam Proctor has made the NFPB finals 10 years in a row and is nicknamed the “Spur Doctor.” ... Dusty Rains is set to earn the 2010 Rookie of the Year award. ... Tyler Adrian was the 2005 Rookie of the Year.

NFPB rankings (through October): 1. Craig Sasse, St. Peter, Ill.; 2. Henry Yoder, Garnett, Kansas.; 3. Tyler Harr, Stuttgart, Ariz.; 4. Bronson Butcher, Muskogee, Okla.; 5. Dustin Hall, Springfield, Mo.; 6. Michael Manes, Conway, Ark.; 7. Dustin Rains, Sparta, Mo.; 8. Timothy Vaughan, Pleasant Hill, Mo.; 9. Danny Schlobohm, La Monte, MO.; 10. Casey Coulter, Farmington, MO.

Barrel racing tidbit:De’ann Parsons of Portales has been barrel racing since she was 10 years old. She got back into barrel racing six ago after taking a short break. ... Adrey Wren and Emily Logan, both of Texico, participate in the High Plains Junior Rodeo besides CGRA events ... Ashlee Stallings of Clovis was the New Mexico State Fair Queen and Miss Rodeo New Mexico in 2007. Stallings was on the Eastern New Mexico University rodeo team and graduated in 2008. She majored in communications.

Other locals entered: Kam Kiehne, Portales; Shelby Mayfield, Clovis; Renee Carter, Fort Sumner; Catie Autrey, Fort Sumner.


Friday: Logan Taylor and the Thunderbirds from Lubbock. Their music is a mix of Bob Dylan, AC/DC, ZZ Top, Stevie Ray Vaughn and Neil Young.

Saturday: Seth Savage Band is also from Lubbock. Their music is a mix of Bob Dylan, Fuel, Charlie Daniels and Chris Ledoux.

Rendered 05/23/2024 15:28