The Eastern New Mexico News - Serving Clovis, Portales and the Surrounding Communities

By CNJ staff 

Wide receiver Poku earns all-LSC first team honors


PORTALES — Eastern New Mexico University junior wide receiver Jesse Poku has been named to the All-Lone Star Conference South Division first team in football.

Poku, from Murphy, Texas, caught nearly eight passes per game and led NCAA Division II in receptions and yards per game for much of the season.

The Greyhounds (3-8) had a pair of second-team choices on defense in senior linebackers Ed Zamora of San Antonio and Texavier Henry of Perland, Texas. They finished 2-3 in the conference in tackles, while Henry also tied for second in the LSC in forced fumbles with three.

Named honorable mention from ENMU were:

• sophomore quarterback J.J. Harp of Argyle, Texas;

• sophomore wide receiver Arvin Jackson of Houston;

• sophomore placekicker-punter Taylor Cannon of Los Lunas;

• junior linebacker Nathan Uland of Denton, Texas; junior

• cornerback Rodney Mitchell of Sarasota, Fla.;

• and junior offensive lineman Karleton Graves of Brownwood, Texas.

Meantime, Uland and Graves were selected to the LSC South All-Academic Team, while senior outside linebacker Devin Sweet of Clovis and junior offensive tackle Mark Pena of Houston were named to the commissioner’s honor role.

Rodrigues earned All-LSC honors — The ENMU men’s soccer squad was represented on the All-LSC first team by junior forward Emerson Rodrigues of Natal, Brazil, the second consecutive year he has won that honor.

Rodrigues scored a team-record 13 goals for the season, and owns several career records for the program.

Freshman defender Michael Stewart of Katy, Texas, and freshman midfielder Kal Herbert of Willaston, England were named to the second team. Herbert was also selected the LSC co-freshman of the year, along with West Texas A&M’s Abel Olivas.

Junior midfielder Mychael Contrerras of Alamogordo was chosen to the LSC all-academic team in soccer.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020