Serving Clovis, Portales and the Surrounding Communities

Organizations 4/4

Friendship Rebekah Lodge

The Friendship Rebekah Lodge installed new officers. Vicky Howard was installed noble grand and Evelyn Calder will serve as vice grand. Mary Dorris is secretary/treasurer. The appointed officers are Elzona Vogamore, right support to the noble grand; Wanda Scott as conductor; Allene Luther as Warden; Robbie Wicker as chaplain; Serena Goar as musician; Melvin Goar as guardian; and Bill Luther as color bearer.

The assembly president, Vianna Steffens from Roswell, will visit the local lodge at the next meeting on April 13, 2004. The members will meet at 6 p.m. at Sundance Restaurant followed by the regular meeting at the IOOF Hall 405 Main. She will visit each Rebekah Lodge during her year as president.

Altrusa International Inc. of Clovis

Altrusa International Inc of Clovis met for its regular business meeting on March 23 at The Back Door. President Sylvia Bean conducted the meeting. It was reported that our 501 (C) 3 paper work has been sent to International for approval. “In the Beginning” kits have been approved by The Women's Clinic and baskets will be assembled and delivered for disbursement to new mothers. Phyllis Davidson agreed to make cards for the baskets. The club agreed to sell angel pins at the district conference in May. Carolyn Sherman will order the pins. Hostesses for the April program meeting will be Kathy Travis, Marjorie Watkins and Gaye Cooke.

Officers for 2004-2005 were elected. President is Kathy Travis; vice president is Phyllis Davidson; corresponding secretary is Margie Reisiger; recording secretary is Glenda Hileman; treasurer is Lyn Henderson; two year directors are Margie Watkins and Marty Thorsen; one year director is Gaye Cooke. A sheet was passed around for members to sign up for committees for the new year and installation of officers will be in May.

Clovis BPO DOES #108

Clovis BPO DOES #108 held a regular meeting on March 25, 2004, with President Kaye Parrish presiding.

The meeting started with the charter being draped in memory of member Bea Newman whom recently passed away. President Kaye appointed Clovis Drove #108 as the Resolution Committee with Kristy Bennett reading the final resolution.

Supreme President Zelle Jackson wrote a letter honoring Bea Martel for being appointed to the National Convention Heritage Center Jewelry Room to be held in June in Albuquerque.

Two new members were initiated, Glenna Prince and Maxine Carmichael. Membership chair JoAnn Thomas read applications for membership for three new members to be initiated on April 8, 2004.

The Drove voted to help Jonathan Mirabal with his expenses as he is participating in the International Basketball Team People to People Sports Ambassador Program. They will be going to New Zealand and Australia.

The Drove then made a donation to help sponsor the Over 50 Plus Olympics of Clovis/Curry County.

President Kaye gave the district meeting report. She announced that a total of 100 Does attended the recent New Mexico South/Arizona District meeting in Artesia. At this district meeting the Clovis Drove was awarded the Sheila Brennan Award for raising money for Multiple Sclerosis. During the public opening ceremony Clovis Drove #108 performed the Flag Day Ceremony with Bonnie Bryant reciting the Flag Tribute. All Droves attending the schools of instruction found them very informative.

The next regular meeting is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. on April 8, 2004, with initiation of new members and refreshment following the meeting.

Plains Regional Medical Center Auxiliary

The Plains Regional Medical Center Auxiliary held its annual awards luncheon on March 29, 2004, with approximately 85 volunteers and guests in attendance. Special guests were Carol Searcy, state auxiliary president of Las Vegas and Rebecca Diaz, state auxiliary president-elect of Albuquerque.

The following people received "hour pin" awards:

100 Hours: Lala Barnes, Carylon Davis, Jeanie Eichenberger, Sandra Martin, Nichole Rhoades and Paige Smith.

200 Hours: Lillis Garner, Gail Martin and Barbara Singleton.

300 Hours: William J. Bishop, Marjorie Boatman, Viola Fickling, Bernice Froeschle, Oveta Smith, Pauline Still, Debbie Ulibarri, Betty Ward and Jimmie Lou Winfrey

400 Hours: Nancy Beavers, Betty Cross, Barbara Hughes and Sissy Thatcher

500 Hours: Helen Miles and Betty Urban

600 Hours: Pat Hatter, Waunita Jones, Amanda Moore, Gertrude Tenorio and Marjorie Wickstrom

700 Hours: Ina Chandler

900 Hours: Dora Pansini

1,000 Hours: Harold Fechter

1,500 Hours: Allene Harvey and Joyce Melton

2,000 Hours: Billie Johnson, Nancy Nelson, Cleo Qualls and Eva Verdile

2,500 Hours: Mona Pomeroy

3,000 Hours: Viva Laney, Sandra Neal, Lorraine Stovall and Billie Ruth Whitfield

3,500 Hours: Ivana Jones and Jody Skeen

4,000 Hours: Joan Edwards and Pat Weekley

5,000 Hours: Emily Pearson

6,000 Hours: Frances Kempf, Bess Kline and Vivian Lake

6,500 Hours: Paula Johnston and Ruth Pate

7,000 Hours: Blanche Fechter and Robbie Williams

10,500 Hours: Mary Kay Nabholz

11,000 Hours: Peggy Jones and Celina Snider

11,500 Hours: Scotty Barris

12,500 Hours: Mozelle Bond and Marion Pasternacki

13,500 Hours: Marie Neff

14,500 Hours: Minnie Prince

Open Pairs Wednesday Morning Session March 31, 2004

Section A

1 Dickie Chandler, Farwell; Ashok Bhakta, Clovis

2 Lura Rundell, Farwell; Art Welker, Portales

3/4 Jerry Beck, Clovis; Claudia Prince, Portales

3/4 Mary Grinde - Oleta Thornton, Clovis

Rendered 05/25/2024 13:49