By CNJ Staff 

Texas area to vote on new senator today



[email protected]

Texas voters in Senate District 31 will cast their votes from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. today to determine who will replace resigning Sen. Teel Bivins, R-Amarillo, who recently was appointed by President Bush to be the new ambassador to Sweden.

There are seven candidates vying for the remainder of Bivins’ term: Restaurateur Bob Barnes, R-Odessa; businessman Kirk Edwards, R-Odessa; farmer Lee Gibson, R-Dumas; education consultant Elaine King Miller, D-Amarillo; attorney/restaurateur Jesse Quackenbush, R-Amarillo; businessman Kel Seliger, R-Amarillo; and oilman Don Sparks, R-Midland.

Bailey County Deputy Court Clerk Shonda Black said Monday she expected low voter turnout in her area.

“It’s just a lot of people don’t vote for only one (candidate),” she said of the special election.

In Bailey County, voters will cast their ballots in four precincts, Black said.

Precinct 1, Box 1 voters will cast their ballots at the Bailey County Courthouse; Precinct 2, Box 2 at the Bailey County Coliseum; Precinct 3, Box 3 at the Three Way Independent School; Precinct 3, Box 4 at the Bailey County Courthouse; Precinct 4, Box 5 at Enochs Baptist Church; and Precinct 4, Box 6 at Muleshoe City Hall.

Parmer County Clerk Colleen Stover also said she expects low voter turnout for the senate seat though she feels it will be a result of a lack of information about each candidate.

For the special election in Parmer County, Precincts 101, 202, 203 and 402 will consolidate, Stover said. Voters for those precincts will cast their ballots at the Calvary Baptist Church in Friona.

Precincts 102 and 303 also will consolidate. Voters there can mark their ballots at the Bovina EMS Building.

Voters in Precinct 302 will cast their ballots at the Oklahoma Lane Methodist Church and voters in Precinct 301 will vote at the Farwell Community Center.

Voters in Precinct 401 can cast their ballots at the Lazbuddie, Stover said.

Bivins served in the Texas Senate since 1989, when he won his first race for political office.

His district runs from the top of the Panhandle to Midland-Odessa.

Before resigning, he served as chairman of the Senate Finance Committee and held positions on the International Relations and Trade Committee, the Jurisprudence Committee and the Government Organization Committee.


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023