Moore among 11 inductees


Longtime women’s basketball coach Wayne Moore and two Clovis prep coaches are among 11 people scheduled to be inducted into the Eastern New Mexico University Athletics Hall of honors during halftime of Saturday’s 2 p.m. football game against Angelo State at Blackwater Draw.

Also being honored is Major Ron D. Milam, a guard on the ENMU men’s basketball team from 1989-91 who was killed during the Sept. 11, 2001, terrorist attacks on the Pentagon

Ceil Genitski Boatman, a native of Tucumcari, was a hitter-middle blocker at ENMU from 1979-82 and graduated from ENMU in 1983. She has been the volleyball coach at Clovis Christian since 1995 and is currently the secondary principal at CCS.

Shane Shallenberger, a Portales High graduate, played baseball at ENMU in 1995, where he set the school single-season batting record of .430 (eclipsed by Dallas McMann’s .433 mark in 2002). Shallenberger was a student assistant at ENMU in 1996 before becoming the head coach at Clovis High School during the 2001-02 school year.

Moore retired as the ENMU women’s basketball coach in 2002 after 22 seasons.

An Elida native, Moore played basketball at Eastern from 1957-59, and baseball in 1964 and 1965. As a pitcher, he defeated both Texas Tech and New Mexico.

As the women’s coach, Moore compiled a 315-261 record, highlighted by a 23-5 mark and an LSC championship in 1992-93, and earned Lone Star Conference Coach of the Year honors three times.

Milam helped the Hounds to a two-year record of 34-24 as a player, averaging 7.2 points, 5.9 assists, 3.0 rebounds and 2.4 steals per game.

Others to be inducted on Saturday include Leigh Dalluge (women’s basketball, 1994-98); Ron Harkey (football and track, 1971-74); Donna Kinkead Patterson (rodeo, 1966-69); Rick Pickren Jr. (men’s basketball, 1988-90); Paddy L. Sheya (football, 1974-77); Wilber D. “Web” Smarnick (ENMU men’s basketball scorekeeper for more than 25 years), and Jennifer Doolittle Young (softball, 1997-98).


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023