The Eastern New Mexico News - Serving Clovis, Portales and the Surrounding Communities

Four selected to LSC academic team


RICHARDSON, Texas — Three baseball players and one softball player have been chosen to represent Eastern New Mexico University on the Lone Star Conference South Division all-academic teams.

The baseball players are junior third baseman Derrick Kennedy of San Antonio, sophomore pitcher-outfielder Seth Clabaugh of Portales and sophomore outfielder Clayton Young of Canyon, Texas. The softball squad includes senior right fielder Kelsey Kubik of Tucson, Ariz.

Elizabeth Hawkins, a senior outfielder from Sandpoint, Idaho, was chosen to the commissioner’s honor roll for softball.

To be eligible for LSC academic honors, student-athletes must have reached sophomore status and carry at least a 3.20 grade point average. All qualifying student-athletes not selected to the all-academic team are then named to the commissioner’s honor roll.

Kennedy, a history major, earned his second selection to the all-academic team. In 2007, he hit .311 with four homers and team-highs of 42 runs batted in and 14 multiple-RBI games.

Clabaugh, majoring in computer information systems, hit .306 for the season with a .436 on-base percentage while going4-5 on the mound with 34 strikeouts and a 5.68 earned run average in a team-high 69 2/3 innings. He posted an eight-game hitting streak during the season, and fanned a career-high six batters over four innings in a game against Southeastern Oklahoma State.

Young, a math major, had a 19-game hitting streak en route to a team-best .392 average, a .478 on-base percentage and a team-high 18 multiple-hit games. His seven triples left him tied for second in that category in the conference.

Kubik, a health, physical education and recreation major, batted .325 with three homers and 31 RBIs in 2007, and her .408 on-base percentage was third on the team. Her .382 career average over two seasons at ENMU is the fourth-best in the program’s history for anyone with at least 200 at-bats.

Hawkins, a biochemistry major, scored 12 runs in her final season with the Zias. She has been named to the commissioner’s honor roll in each of the past two seasons.


Name, School Pos. Yr.

Trey Watten, ACU P So.

Alec Sowards, ACU 3B Sr.

Jordan Schmitt, ACU C So.

A.J. Knight, WT OF Sr.

Justin Graham, WT OF Jr.

Clayton Young, ENMU OF So.

Shan Sullivan, Angelo St. SS So.

Seth Clabaugh, ENMU P So.

Derrick Kennedy, ENMU 3B Jr.

Commissioner’s honor roll

Abilene Chritian: Minor Alexander, So.; Thomas Bumpass, So.; Travis Catalani, So.; Stephen Miller, Sr.; Ryan Quidley, So.; Matt Sullivan, So.; Danny Williams, Sr. Tarleton State: Daniel Bruce, Sr.; Wesley Burton, Sr.; Daniel Mayne, Sr.

LSC South academic player of the year: Trey Watten, Abilene Christian.


Name, School Pos. Yr.

Samantha Borgesono, ACU C Sr.

Whitney Meeks, Angelo St. OF Jr.

Jessica Johnson, ACU 3B/DP Jr.

Lindsy Russ-Keller, TWU P Sr.

Nicole Cone, Tarleton St. 2B So.

Kandace Kubat, Angelo St. OF Sr.

Kelsey Kubik, ENMU OF Sr.

Brittany Welch, Angelo St. 3B Jr.

Ashley Bray, Tarleton St. OF Sr.

Commissioner’s honor roll

Abilene Christian: Allison Crouse, Sr.; Kim Partin, So.; Sarah Vidalin, Sr. Eastern New Mexico: Elizabeth Hawkins, Sr. Tarleton State: Megan Schaefer, Sr.; Tamra Bradley, So.; Kasi Dobbs, Jr. Texas A&M-Kingsville: Amanda Moquin, So.; Courtney Rigamonti, So. Texas Woman’s: Tiffanie Boone, So. West Texas A&M: Erin Hartigan, So.; Breanna Adams, So.; Jenny Matulich, So.

LSC South academic player of the year: Samantha Borgeson, Abilene Christian.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2016